What I’m working on

It’s a quiet, snowy January day. I just got back from a long walk in the Alaskan twilight with my dog, and now I’m settled in at the computer with a cup of tea for a short post about what I’m up to with my romance writing these days!

I just approved the galleys for my short story “Waiting for the Light”, which will appear in Snow on the Roof from Dreamspinner Press (available for pre-order here). This is an M/M anthology about older men. My contribution is a story in which two widowers meet at a seniors’ bereavement support group. It’s also my first (but probably not the last!) story set in Heatherfield, a fictional southern Illinois town very loosely based on the four years I lived in Champaign, IL.

Back in late December I submitted a fantasy story (really more of a short novella) to Storm Moon Press for their anthology Big Damn Heroines, a theme anthology featuring plus-sized women. This story is F/M and F/F, with some erotic content, but mostly it’s an action-adventure tale of two women struggling to survive in a bandit-infested desert wilderness.

I also have an M/M novella, Homespun, submitted for consideration with a publisher right now. This one was not written for any specific open call; it’s a story that fell out of my head onto the page back in July, a sweet and low-key story of bereavement, growing up, and growing old, set on a sheep farm in upstate New York. This one is near and dear to my heart, and I hope it finds a good home.

And now I think I’m going to browse through the open calls for upcoming anthologies, and see if anything jumps out at me as an interesting possibility!

I'm a writer and artist living in Fairbanks, Alaska.

Posted in Dreamspinner Press, Project Update

Leave a Reply

Newest release
Held for Ransom cover

Held for Ransom - released November 14

Categories
