Feeling pretty good

I did a big writing push this week and finished the rough draft of an M/M novel that I plan to clean up this winter for submission sometime next spring. It came out to about 65K … no telling what the final word count will be, since I’ll need to remove at least one dead-end subplot and replace it with something else, but I’m feeling pretty accomplished. 🙂 This is a contemporary romance set in rural Illinois and loosely spun off from my story in the Dreamspinner Press anthology Snow on the Roof last winter.

In other news, the geese are flying south, the leaves are turning, and it’s back-to-school time for me this year — I’m taking some classes at the local university! I got my BA several years ago and don’t currently plan to go for another one, but I’ve always wanted to a) learn a second language, and b) take an introductory archaeology class, so this fall I’m doing both … plus a couple other classes as well! I’m excited about it, and I feel it will be a good use of my time, as long as it doesn’t bring my writing to a dead halt. (I still plan to make an effort to carve out a little writing time each day!) Still, this is the first year that I haven’t had anything scheduled which would make classes impossible (the past few years I’ve either had travel plans or something work-related), so I figured I’d be foolish not to jump on the opportunity. I’m hoping to come out of it with lots of writing fodder if nothing else!

I'm a writer and artist living in Fairbanks, Alaska.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Newest release
Held for Ransom cover

Held for Ransom - released November 14

Categories
