August update

Hello all!

It’s early August, which means summer is nearly done for us here in Alaska — which is kind of unfair seeing how all the rain made it feel like we didn’t even HAVE a summer. Still, I just got back from a few hours at the fair with a friend, and the weather could not have been more gorgeous: sunny, breezy, 70 degrees, barely a cloud in the sky. The tragic irony of it all is that I grew up in a rainy part of the state and Fairbanks summers are usually too hot and dry for my tastes. I enjoy our cooler, rainier summers. But this summer, I swear, has barely had a sunny day since early May. My garden is hardly growing, my tomatoes have set no fruit, and most of the wildflowers are weeks behind their normal blooming schedules. And the mosquitoes? Don’t ask me about the mosquitoes.

(I still love living here, but DANG.)

Anyway, what am I working on? Just a couple of days ago I turned in the second-round edits for Held For Ransom, my contemporary M/M romance coming out in November/December. I’ve also established with my publisher that Held For Ransom is part of a series, called Heatherfield, that will be the location of more stand-alone novels/novellas featuring different couples. In fact, another Heatherfield novella is one of the projects I’m planning to write this month, in which the owner of Heatherfield County’s tiny independent gay bookstore meets a brash big-city reporter and sparks fly. I also have a couple more novels loosely planned for the series.

The Project Fierce Chicago anthology from Less Than Three Press is out now, including my story “Timethieves” in which two boys from different eras meet again and again as they grow up. I participated in an author roundtable at J.P. Barnaby’s blog, and I talk about the story a little more there.

Also, despite having perpetual good intentions of blogging more, I am mostly hanging out on Tumblr these days. My Tumblr is laylainalaska and is largely composed of comics and movie fandom reblogs (I’m a longtime comics fan with a huge love for Marvel’s movies as well), my art, and posts about my webcomic Kismet which I’m restarting in September. Anyone is welcome to stop by!

I'm a writer and artist living in Fairbanks, Alaska.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Project Update
2 comments on “August update
  1. Annette says:

    Looking forward to ‘Held for Ransom’ 🙂 Wish you could send the rain down to southern CA. We NEED it so badly.

Leave a Reply

Newest release
Held for Ransom cover

Held for Ransom - released November 14

Categories
